Blogger’s First NFL Game

23Dec09

Snowpocalypse, snowmageddon, snowmygawd, bunch of snow, blizzard of 2009.  Whatever you called it, whatever claustrophobia-inducing grocery store you visited, 22” of fluffy snow made itself known this past weekend in multitude and disruption.  My Saturday afternoon plans consisted of: using my expiring Newseum passes (50% off the normal $20 entrance fee, otherwise known as discounted robbery); seeing the holiday exhibits at the Botanic Garden and Union Station; and shopping at the Downtown Holiday Market.  Ambitious schedule, I know, which is why it was destined to fail.  But I was not about to let my Baltimore Ravens vs. Chicago Bears football tickets on Sunday encumber the same fate.  I was going to that game.

I got season-ticket holder seats through Stubhub as an early Christmas gift to JP, a rabid Bears fan.  The tickets were marked up, of course, but affordable.  We sat in the lower deck to the left behind a goal post.  Great views, and we were fortuitously shielded from the remnants of snow falling from the upper decks. Someone (with a gifted arm) chucked a snowball from the upper deck and narrowly missed two referees on the field.  JP reminded me of the Philadelphia Eagles incident where fans expressed discontent by pelting Santa Claus with ice balls.  DC/Baltimore fans are much more dignified than that!

I credit the stadium staff with meticulously clearing the snow in time for the game.  I guess they were expecting lots of no-shows (not the case in any way – my attempt to move forward a few rows was thwarted when the rightful seat owners appeared) and offered discounted concession stand items ($4 for french fries rather than $6 – woo hoo!) in gratitude.

It was both my first NFL game and first experience with die-hard local fans.  I’m neither a Redskins fan nor a Ravens fan – I’m apathetic.  I posed as a Redskins fan for a brief time in 1992 when they were actually decent and went to the Super Bowl.  Selecting just the right gaudy Redskins Super Bowl t-shirt is one of my fondest childhood memories.  Hasn’t happened again since.  I do know that Redskins fans like to paint their faces; I didn’t see any painted faces in Baltimore.  Maybe spectators feared they would need to chip it off like icicles later due to the sub-freezing temperatures.

Highways and exit ramps were clear and safe to travel on.  The on-ramps, conversely, were a mess as there was a line of cars waiting for their turn to get stuck in snowy mush at practically every entrance.

(Message to DC/VA/MD Drivers: please, please clear your rear window, the car hood, and at least the driver’s side windows of debris.  You’ve just spent the entire previous day sitting on your couch, watching Food Network, and eating frozen pizza because there’s nothing else to do, that surely you can summon enough energy to thoroughly clean your car and not just the dashboard.  Sure it feels cool to play like you’re in a traveling igloo, but DC is technically still part of the South.  Science (and common sense) says snow melts and things in motion tend to stay in motion.  The flying snow endangers yourself, and most of all, it endangers me.  Kthanxbye, Convince Me DC.)

Lines for the women’s restroom are ubiquitously disproportionately long compared to our lineless counterparts.  Likewise, the security and ticket entrance lines were divided by gender, and were unbelievably disproportionately few in number for females.  Of the 14 entrances at one gate, only 4 queues were for women.  Though I was cheering for the opposing team and the female home team fans outnumbered me in line, we were all on par in irritation.

See the unfair number of male entry queues??

My inebriated, neighboring spectator was telling nobody in particular in the crowd about how tailgaters were playing homeless and lighting fires in the parking lot trash cans in order to stay warm.  He was also wearing mascara in place of any winter weather gear, so his report is suspect.

Ravens fans are dedicated.  They dress in all purple, the team’s color: purple wigs, purple camouflage pants, purple jerseys.  JP and I donned Bears ski and Santa hats, along with shirts concealed below layers of coats and scarves.  It was intimidating to enter an elevator or row of seats of all Ravens fans and hear silence fall, glares rise.  Since the score ended in a 31-7 slaughter of the Bears, most in the crowd turned their taunts into encouragement.  Things like, “it’s ok, it’s just not their season.”  We, along with a slew of other defeated fans, left the stadium with 10 minutes to spare in the game.

It.was.cold.  My feet thumped like square bricks on the walk back to the parking garage.  You could have poked them with needles and I wouldn’t have felt a thing.  As I said, DC is technically in the South, but with the weather this past weekend it could have been mistaken for Boston, Chicago, or New York.

I’ve now been a spectator at professional football, basketball, hockey, and soccer games in the District and environs.  By no means am I sports fan, but I appreciate the sense of community that these events inspire.  It’s rumored that Giro d’Italia, one of professional cycling’s biggest events, may come to DC during an opening stage in 2011. See you there – if DC can continue to convince me ‘til then!

43 Responses to “Blogger’s First NFL Game”

  1. 1 mmg3001

    It is good to see you writing again, even if about football. I was wondering why nothing in two weeks. Nice photo of you two!

  2. you used science and the south in the same sentence. twice. cut.it.out.k?

  3. 3 mg2

    You know how Arlington has that song “at the starbucks or the starbucks or the starbucks or the starbucks…?” Baltimore’s song could be “at the crackhouse or the crackhouse or the crackhouse or the crackhouse or the crackhouse….”

  4. your information was usefull for me.

  5. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was
    totally right. This publish actually made my day.
    You cann’t consider simply how so much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  6. 6 Evie

    Hi there friends, good piece of writing and pleasant urging commented at this place,
    I am really enjoying by these.

  7. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be
    happy. I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you
    few interesting things or advice. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read more things about it!

  8. 8 Juana

    Hi, i think that i saw you visited my weblog so i came
    to “return the favor”.I’m attempting to find things to enhance my website!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  9. Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help
    from an established blog. Is it very difficult to set up your own blog?

    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about making my own
    but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any points or suggestions? Thanks

  10. Whats up are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get
    started and set up my own. Do you require any coding knowledge to make
    your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

  11. I believe this is one of the such a lot significant information for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But should statement on some basic issues, The web site taste is ideal, the articles is really nice : D. Excellent activity, cheers

  12. I absolutely love your site.. Excellent colors & theme. Did you
    develop this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my own personal blog and want to find out where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named. Thank you!

  13. Terrific article! This is the type of information that are meant to be shared across the
    internet. Shame on the search engines for no longer positioning this submit
    higher! Come on over and consult with my web site . Thanks =)

  14. 14 Rosa

    Hi, i believe that i noticed you visited my blog so
    i got here to return the favor?.I am attempting to find things
    to enhance my site!I assume its adequate to use some of
    your ideas!!

  15. What’s up Dear, are you genuinely visiting this website daily, if so afterward you will definitely get fastidious know-how.

  16. Helpful info. Lucky me I found your web site accidentally, and
    I am shocked why this accident didn’t came about in advance! I bookmarked it.

  17. Whats up are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own.
    Do you need any html coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  18. I needed to thank you for this great read!! I absolutely enjoyed every
    little bit of it. I’ve got you book marked to check out new things you post…

  19. It’s genuinely very difficult in this busy life to listen news on Television, so I just use web for that purpose, and obtain the newest news.

  20. Having read this I thought it was rather enlightening.
    I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and posting comments.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

  21. It’s nearly impossible to find educated people on this topic, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  22. Hi I am so happy I found your blog, I really ffound you by
    mistake, while I was searchibg on Digg for soomething else,
    Nonethelexs I am here now and would just like to
    say thanks a lot for a marvelous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I
    have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back
    to read more, Please do keep up the great job.

  23. I found a site shopping
    Cheap NFL Jerseys at http://www.cheapwholesale-nfl.com

  24. Hey there exceptional website! Does running a blog such as this require a massive amount work?
    I have virtually no expertise in codinhg however I had been hoping to sstart
    my own blog in the near future. Anyways, if you have
    any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off topic however I simply needed to ask.
    Thanks!

  25. Hi! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m noot seeing very
    good gains. If you know of any please share. Thank you!

  26. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before but after browsing through a
    few of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Regardless, I’m certainly delighted I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

  27. Wonԁerful blog! I found it whilе browsing on Yahoo News.
    Do you hаve any tips on how to get listed iіn
    Yаhoo News? I’ve been trying for a whіle but I nevеr seem to get theгe!
    Thanks

  28. Awesome thingѕ here. I’m very happу to seee yοur post.
    Tɦanոk you a lot aոd I’m lookming ahead tо contact you.

    Will you kindly drοp me a e-mail?

  29. Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to
    assist with SEO? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for
    some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good success.

    If you know of any please share. Appreciate it!

  30. 30 Connie

    Wow, wondeful blog layout! How lonbg Һhave you been blgցіng for?
    уou make blogging look easy. Τhe overall look of your website is fantastic,
    aѕ weell as the content!

  31. I’m truly enjoying the design and latout of your site. It’s a
    very asy on the eyyes which makes iit much more enjoyable for me
    to comme here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Outstanding work!

  32. hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve definitely
    picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this
    web site, since I experienced to reload the web site lots of times previous to I could
    get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK?

    Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and could damage your
    quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords.
    Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of
    your respective interesting content. Make sure you update
    this again soon.

  33. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you so much, However I am encountering troubles with
    your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I am unable to join it.
    Is there anybody getting identical RSS problems?
    Anybody who knows the answer will you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  34. Wow, that’s what I was searching for, what a data!

    existing here at this weblog, thanks admin of
    this web site.

  35. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed aand look forward to seeking more
    of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your web site in myy
    social networks!

  36. I believe everything composed was very logical.
    However, think about this, what if you typed a catchier title?
    I ain’t saying your content is not good, but what if you added a title to maybe
    get a person’s attention? I mean Blogger’s First NFL
    Game | Convince Me DC is a little plain. You should glance at Yahoo’s
    front page and watch how they create post titles to get people to open the links.
    You might try adding a video or a related picture
    or two to grab readers interested about everything’ve got to say.
    Just my opinion, it would make your blog a little bit more interesting.

  37. If you wish for to grow your know-how just
    keep visiting this site and be updated with
    the hottest news update posted here.

  38. Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness in your put up is simply nice and that
    i could assume you are a professional on this subject.

    Fine together with your permission let me to grasp your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.

    Thank you 1,000,000 and please carry on the rewarding work.


  1. 1 best DUI Attorney Milwaukee
  2. 2 best Baltimore DUI attorney
  3. 3 best phoenix DUI attorney
  4. 4 best Maryland Search Engine Optimizationclick here
  5. 5 best maryland pest control service

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

