How the Grinch Stole Halloween

01Nov09

Hope you enjoyed your extra hour of sleep today!  DCers usually overreact to any shift in their daily commute, whether a sprinkle of rain or snow or the sun setting early at 5 pm, so tomorrow’s drive home should be interesting.

P1080706

Compliments of my dad, grinching Halloween in 2007

I watched Scream and stayed inside for Halloween.  The rain and all the crowds…Boo, humbug!  The only DC Halloween event that I’ve done twice now is walked through Georgetown in costume.  I recommend doing this at least once.  Main thoroughfares are shut down to allow the revelers to revel somewhat safely, and some people get really creative with their costumes.  While the premise of this blog is to fully experience my hometown, I can live without first hand experience of some local mayhem like the hugely popular Nightmare on M Street bar crawl.  I don’t desire to pay $20 for the opportunity to stand in line outside of a bar for a $2 Coors Light special.

Not convinced, DC.

Still, I managed to get in the holiday spirit enough to indulge in treats. 🙂

DSCF2805

S'more, Peanut Butter, Raspberry Amaretto

I tried Lavender Moon Cupcakery in Old Town.  It was embarrassing: I rarely carry cash and learned that they don’t accept credit card after the shop girl had wrapped up my cupcakes.  Even though I only had a few dollars to pay for 1-and-2/3 cupcakes, she kindly gave me all of them anyway.  Mmmm!

DC joined the cupcake trend a bit late, but it’s capitalizing in full force now.  My favorite dealers in the area are, in order:

1.    Buzz
2.    Georgetown Cupcake
3.    Lavender Moon Cupcakery
4.    Baked and Wired
5.    Cakelove

One thing I really look forward to around here is the changing leaves and sense of autumn.  We experience all four seasons, albeit summer and winter hog the majority of the year.  Not all major cities can claim that(Los Angeles, I’m talking to you).  Some fall colors for your viewing pleasure:

DSCF2794

DSCF2797

DSCF2803

Convinced, DC.



11 Responses to “How the Grinch Stole Halloween”

  1. 1 Jenn K.

    LOVE your blogs, Mon! Couldn’t agree more with your views on Halloween in the Nation’s Capital! Experience it once….that’s all you need because you won’t want to ever do it again! Ha!

    I think you might have found your calling….your personality really shines through with your blogs! Keep on writing, and I’ll keep on reading! =)

    Happy November!

    • Thanks for the feedback, Jenn! Let me know if you have any ideas for future posts. I do really want to try Pasta Mia soon!

  2. 3 mg

    Unbelievable. Unbelievable.

    First off, way to want to be a NYCer, with not just mere cupcake shop patronage, but cupcake shop rankings. And, just in time – exactly five years after the phenomenon started in NYC. Look, Philly has one or two of those shops too, but that doesn’t mean I go into them! You’ve been to at least five! And you have been comped at at least one! jeez. The City Paper covered this whole NYC wannabe phenomenon SIX YEARS AGO. Click on that link, read the third paragraph about interchangability.

    Speaking of which, thanks for the pics of the fall colors. Nice of you to point out the one place where the colors don’t change so the rest of us (i.e., those who do not live in LA) can stop reading as we can merely look out our windows. Looks cold out there!

    So apparently the grinch is working a couple months early from Christmas, but a couple years late as well. Hmmm, I wonder just who the grinch is, the one who is bringing up two-year-old signs, but wouldn’t go to the house this year to give out candy…hmmm.

    Whew. Your blog makes me miss DC. Think you can do a post on arrogant interns next? Then I’ll really feel like this is my cyberhome away from home.

  3. I didn’t give out any candy this year- and I didn’t get to walk down M St- I did do that two years ago however.

    I do like the bar crawls but $20 is a tad too much for that.

  4. 5 Rahul

    Good thing you tried those cupcakes now — I sense the cupcake bubble is about to burst! What then, settle for comparable treats at a quarter of the price? I think not!

  5. 7 mmg

    Talking about cupcakes– last night Jay Leno talked about someone creating a cupcake that was the size of 25 cupcakes. Jay complained that this was just a cake! Those cupcakes do look good.

  6. You NEED to go to Sticky Fingers Bakery in Columbia Heights. They have tons of different kinds of cupcakes and they are SO GOOD!

  7. D.C. is awesome too. I spent four months there this past spring for an internship.


Leave a Reply

