Jazz at the American Art Gallery

20Nov09

Jazz!


I went to the Smithsonian American Art Museum’s Take Five! event.  Every third Thursday from 5-7 pm, the museum hosts a different jazz ensemble in the indoor courtyard connecting the American Art Museum and National Portrait Gallery.  This month, the Brad Linde Ensemble, a 10-piece band devoted to the bebop style of jazz, entertained.  The group celebrates Miles Davis, Thelonious Monk, and Lester Young.  Their claim to fame is that they played in DC over Inauguration weekend as part of a tribute to historic U Street.

Although I’ve been to the free outdoor Jazz in the Sculpture Garden summer series at the National Gallery of Art several times, I only recently learned that another gallery hosts recurring jazz year-round, also without cost.  These two galleries are so simple to reach.  Take the museum exit out of the Gallery Place/Chinatown metro station and it leads adjacent to the museum.


The bandleader listed some of his personal musical influences, “Besides Louis Armstrong (obviously), the people who influenced me most would have to be Charlie Parker, and Charlie Parker, and, oh yeah, also Charlie Parker.”  I think he’s in fan love!

Unlike Jazz in the Sculpture Garden where grass estate is limited fast, seats and standing room at the museum were practically unlimited.  It’s an enormous, cavernous space that distorted the music depending on where I stood.  Still, they are clearly a commanding group that made me wish I owned a tuba for stress relief.

Indoor trees and an egg-crate ceiling make for a distinct setting.

I went to this event alone and wasn’t out of place.  The courtyard was mixed with families with young children, singles and groups of friends, anxious couples chugging wine (presumably first dates), and relaxed couples reading the New York Times.

Board games to borrow during the performance.  Not sure if I’ve ever played Sorry!

The next Take Five! performance at the gallery is on Thursday, December 17 and will feature holiday jazz.

I was impressed with the museum café, which offered fresh fruit, decadent-looking chocolate mousse, and a variety of drinks.  It looked like they also have hot sandwiches and pasta during the day.  Of course, you’ll pay $3.50 for a cup of fruit, but at least it’s more than just a variety of candy bars.

The museum closes fairly late at 7:00 pm everyday.  I made use of the 25 minutes until closing to race through a few exhibits at both the American Art and Portrait Galleries.  While the courtyard was filled with noise, the stairwells and exhibit rooms were eerily silent.  If you’re looking to visit the museum when it’s least populated or have that Thomas Crown “I could disappear with this painting and no one would see” moment, go an hour before closing.

I captured a few photos before a security guard yelled “no photography!” in my direction.

Constitution’s preamble as communicated over license plates.


An audience line had formed at 6:00 pm for Historian Roger Kennedy’s lecture, When Art Worked, starting an hour later.  The topic of his discussion was the New Deal’s mobilization of artists during the Great Depression.  I made a quick trip through the exhibit that he was going to discuss that was created through FDR’s Public Works of Art Project, the first government program to support the arts in an effort to raise morale.  The paintings depicted life with themes such as Industry, Labor, and Leisure.



Moving on, I was startled to see this figure out of the corner of my eye.  Phew, fake!


Commentary on global climate change.

As always, photos can’t trump a visit.  How amazing is it that I could enjoy remarkable art and live music – in two galleries – for free – on a regular weekday evening – in this city?  I might also be experiencing some fan love…



39 Responses to “Jazz at the American Art Gallery”

  1. 1 AG

    I also love the big spaces of some of the museums. Check out the Building Museum for another similar experience.

    • Ooh, good suggestion! I’ve only been inside the Building Museum once when I was waiting in a looong line to pick up my entry information for the Cherry Blossom race. I didn’t really get to see exhibits, but I know the space. I used to daydream about getting married in the courtyard of the National Gallery of Art – it would be perfect with its high ceilings, columns, and flowers.

  2. i love to visit art galleries both home and abroad, art has been my life,-“

  3. i really like to visit art galleries because i love every bit of art “~

  4. I’m curious to find out what blog platform you happen to be working with? I’m having some minor security problems with my latest blog and I’d like to find something more risk-free. Do you have any solutions?

  5. Ahaa, its nice dialogue regarding this post here at this website, I have read all that, so at this time me also
    commenting here.

  6. I absolutely love your blog.. Very nice colors & theme.

    Did you make this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m hoping to create my own personal blog and want to know where you got this from or what the theme is named. Kudos!

  7. Hi, yup this piece of writing is actually pleasant and
    I have learned lot of things from it concerning blogging.
    thanks.

  8. Hi there all, here every one is sharing these kinds of familiarity, therefore it’s pleasant to read this web site, and I used to pay a visit this blog all the time.

  9. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely pleased I stumbled upon it and I’ll
    be bookmarking it and checking back often!

  10. For latest information you have to go to see internet and on
    web I found this web page as a best site for most up-to-date updates.

  11. Heya just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you
    know a few of the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not
    sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same outcome.

  12. If the wrong dimension plate is used then overworking with the hair occurs causing damage.
    s service provider which provides you these facilities.
    well, she is not a hair apparatus promoter, so I believe in her.

  13. I was recommended this web site through my cousin. I am not
    sure whether this submit is written by means of him as
    nobody else recognise such targeted about my problem.
    You are amazing! Thank you!

  14. all the time i used to read smaller articles or reviews that as
    well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this paragraph which I am reading here.

  15. Great web site. Lots of useful information here. I’m sending it to some friends ans also sharing in delicious.

    And certainly, thank you to your sweat!

  16. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.
    I’m quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

  17. Lovely post, and well presented.

    Perhaps these issues can be applied within other industries too, such as
    the cleaning sector.

    These kind of issues need to be mentioned at a higher level and get
    finished once and for all.

    Hope to see some more articles on this subject, but for now I have my cleaning to
    do.

  18. Why aren’t we installing more solar systems globally,
    this is the energ source for the future of our planet?

    The facts are there in black annd white for us all to see, renewable energy just makes good sense.

    Installing solar can cut your utility bills, tere is no need too continue to paay high electricity costs.

    I am always amazed how many peeople out there still need to be convinced
    of the moiney benefits that can be made by installing a solar system.

  19. Surely green power is what alll countries around the world ought to be promoting?

    The facts are there iin black and whute for anyone to see, green
    power just makes good sense.

    The money benefits can be vazst for enterprise operations and families alike.

    I amm alwayhs amazed how manhy members of the public still need to be persuaded of the money savings that can be made by
    installing renewable energy system.

  20. Surely green energy is what all governments around the
    world ought to be promoting?

    The facdts are there for anyone to see for anyokne tto see,
    solar energy just makes sense.

    The cost benefits can be vast ffor enterprise operations and the general public alike.

    It alwahs amazes me how many people out there still need to be convinced of the
    money savings that can be made by installing renewable energy system.

  21. Why aren’t we installing more solar power across the world, this is the power sourece
    for the future?

    The facts are there in front of us for us all to see, solar energy just makes sense.

    Installing solar can reduce significantly your power bills,
    why continue to pay very costfly electricity costs.

    I am always amazed how many people out there still need to be persuaded of the
    cost benefits that can be made from instalkling solar panels.

  22. Why aren’t we installing more solar powr globally, this has to bbe
    the power source for the future of our planet?

    The huge benefits of using solar has been proven over and over again.

    Having solar installed ccan reduce significantly your power bills,
    you don’t havbe to continue to pay high power costs.

    Installing a solkar system iis good fibancial sense and
    also helps keep this planet of ours for our children.

  23. Surely solar emergy is wha all governments around tthe world should be promoting?

    Thee vat benefits of using green energy has been
    proven continuously.

    The fiancial savings can be huge for businews operations
    and the general publpic alike.

    Installing a solar system is good financial sense and
    also helps keep this world oof ours for the future.

  24. We stumbled over here different page and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see soo i am just following you.
    Look forward to lookking into your web page again.

  25. Surely solar energy is what all governments around the
    world ought to be promoting?

    The huge benefitss of sing renewable eneregy hhas been proven over andd over again.

    The money savings can be enormous for commercial operations and the general public
    alike.

    It always amazes me how many members of the pulic still need to bbe convinced of the cost
    savings that can bbe mase by instlling a solar system.

  26. We can be insdtalling more solar power across the world, this is
    becoming the power source for the future of our planet?

    The vast bbenefits of installling green energy has been proven over and over again.

    The money savings can be huge for enterprise operations and consumers alike.

    Installing a solar system is good fimancial sense and
    also helps preserve this planet of ours for our children.

  27. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that
    it is really informative. I’m going to watch out
    forr brussels. I wilkl appreciate if you continue this in future.
    Numerous people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  28. If you desire to get a great deal from this paragraph then you
    have to apply such techniques to your won blog.

  29. It’s going to be finish of mine day, however before end I am reading this enormous piece
    of writing to increase my know-how.

  30. Hi there, all is going well here and ofcourse every one is sharing facts,
    that’s in fact fine, keep up writing.

  31. Right away I am ready to do my breakfast, later than having my breakfast coming yet again to read more news.

  32. Thanks for finally talking about >Jazz at the American Art Gallery
    | Convince Me DC <Liked it!

  33. you are truly a good webmaster. The website loading pace is incredible.
    It sort of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick.
    Moreover, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve done a fantastic task in this subject!

  34. My brother suggested I may like this website. He was totally
    right. This post actually made my day. You can not believe just how
    so much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  35. Howdy! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 4!

    Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Keep up the superb work!

  36. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how
    could i subscribe for a blog site? The account helped me a acceptable deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright
    clear idea

  37. This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am truly pleassant to read
    everthing at single place.


  1. 1 Http://Demopage.Ch.Tf/06/Wikkawiki/BettyefnPoulsonlk

Leave a Reply

